The Malaysian Government has come up with a proposal to develop four new tolled highways for the peninsula.

Out of the four, one road is already in existence while the other three will be new alignments of existing roads.

PLUS Expressways will be the concession operator of two highways, one from Sungai Dua to Juru in Penan and another from Kinrara to Damansara in the Klang Valley.

Permodalan Nasional would operate the remaining two highways from Ampang to Cheras and from Damansara to Sungai Buloh.

Work on Sungai Dua-Juru road will involve the broadening of the lanes to ease road congestion, while the other three new proposed toll roads will help ease traffic in the suburbs of Kuala Lumpur.