Metro Manila Skyway, Philippines

The Metro Manila Skyway is located within the National Capital Region Metro Manila. The elevated expressway crosses through Makati City, Pasay City and Parañaque City. The Skyway begins in Barangay San Isidro, Makati City and terminates at Barangay San Martin de Porres in Parañaque City.

The expressway was initially operated by PNCC Skyway. In 2008, SOMCo (Skyway Operations and Maintenance Corporation) took over as the operator.


Construction of the expressway is being undertaken in three phases. Stage 1 involved rehabilitation of the 13.5km section of Magallanes-Alabang and also construction of a six-lane Expressway from Buendia to Bicutan. The six-lane elevated expressway from Buendia to Bicutan is 10km long.

The expressway from Buendia to Bicutan is now called the Metro Manila Skyway System.

Stage 2, which is currently in progress, is for future use. It involves construction of a 6.88km long expressway from Bicutan to Alabang which extends from the 9.5km toll road from Makati to Bicutan. The construction work initially began at the San Martin de Porres Temporary Exit Ramp. In Stage 2, the Skyway will cross Muntinlupa City.

"The expressway from Buendia to Bicutan is now called the Metro Manila Skyway System."

The Main Toll Plaza is located between Sucat and Alabang has six lanes and will replace the temporary Skyway Toll Plazas at the NAIA flight path.

Stage 3 involves construction of a 13.24km connector road, 10.54km of which will run right over the Philippine National Railway tracks and 2.7km over the Osmeña Highway. The construction involves linking the missing segment between Buendia and Balintawak.

The road will be connected in the north to Segment 10, which will be constructed through the cities of Caloocan and Valenzuela. The connector road is expected to have four entry and exit points at the C-3 Road in Caloocan, Buendia in Makati and España, and Quirino Avenue in Manila.

The project is expected to attract more investments to the south of the Manila area. It will also enhance trade, delivery of goods and services situated in Metro Manila and Southern Luzon.


Construction of Stage 1 started in April 1995 and was completed in October 1999. It had cost $514m.

The construction works of Stage 2 started in 2009 and are expected to be completed by May 2011.

The section of Bicutan to Sucat including the slip ramps is expected to be completed by December 2010. It is part of the South Luzon Expressway expansion. Upon completion of Stage 2, the San Martin de Porres temporary exit will be removed and vehicles will exit in Sucat and Alabang.

"The project is expected to attract more investments to the south of the Manila area."

Stage 2 has created 2,500 jobs. More employment is expected to be created by the time of completion of the project.

The proposal for construction of Stage 3 was put forward by Metro Pacific Tollways Development Corp. (MPTDC), a subsidiary of Pacific Tollways Corp. (MPTC). It is still in the planning stage. Construction of Stage 3 will commence in 2012.


The lead contractor for Stage 1 was Hutama – RSEA J.O. Inc.

Philippines-based FF Cruz Construction Corporation was awarded the contract for Stage 2. However, due to delays in construction, the contract was cancelled and was awarded to DM Consunji, Inc. (DMCI) in March 2009.

The project is being managed by a consortium of Renardet. US-based Pertconsult International is acting as the independent consultant. The design consultant for the project is JF Cancio Assc.

Citra Metro Manila Tollways Corporation is acting as the proponent for the Skyway project.